Skip to content

Some sharing on Peter Bregman’s latest post

一月 1, 2010

Some key phrases to share about Bregman’s latest post — Harvard Business Review:

How to reverse a mistake in the middle of it?

It’s especially hard to stop when you’re invested in being right, when you’ve spent time, energy, emotion, and sometimes money on your point of view.

Sometimes it’s not so dramatic. It might be an argument about which resources to put on which project. Or a decision about whether or not to continue to pursue a particular opportunity.

When you have the sense you’ve made a mistake but you’ve already pushed so hard it would be embarrassing to back out, how do you backpedal?

I have two strategies that help me pull back my own momentum: Slow Down and Start Over.

Slow Down:

…In a discussion in which you’ve been pushing hard and suspect you might be wrong, begin to argue your point less and listen to the other side more. Buy some time by saying something like: “That’s an interesting point, I need to think about it some more." Or, “tell me more about what you mean." Listening is the perfect antidote to momentum since it’s non-committal to any point of view.

If it’s an investment, reduce it some, without taking it all out, so that literally you have less invested in being right.

Start Over:

… It’s inevitable that our history impacts our current decisions. If I hired someone and invested energy and money supporting his success, it would be hard for me to admit he’s not working out. But, knowing what I know now, would I hire him? If not, I should let him go. Same thing with a project I’ve supported or a decision I’ve promoted. I imagine I’m a new manager coming into the project. Would I continue it? Invest additional resources? Or move on?

For Bregman’s original post: click here

No comments yet

發表迴響

